Search All School Library Catalogs
Click on a book jacket to see if the library has a featured book in-stock
Hot Titles

Long Way Down
by Reynolds, Jason

Publishers Weekly (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved 9781481438254 Will, 15, is following his neighborhood's well-established rules-don't cry, don't snitch, but do get revenge "if someone you love/ gets killed"-when he leaves his apartment, intent on killing whoever murdered his older brother, Shawn. He's emboldened by the gun tucked into his waistband: "I put my hand behind my back/ felt the imprint/ of the piece, like/ another piece/ of me/ an extra vertebra,/ some more/ backbone." As Will makes his way to the ground floor of his building, the elevator stops to accept passengers, each an important figure from his past, all victims of gun violence. Are these ghosts? Or is it Will's subconscious at work, forcing him to think about what he intends to do and what it will accomplish? The story unfolds in the time it takes for the elevator to descend, and it ends with a two-word question that hits like a punch to the gut. Written entirely in spare verse, this is a tour de force from a writer who continues to demonstrate his skill as an exceptionally perceptive chronicler of what it means to be a black teen in America. Ages 12-up. Agent: Elena Giovinazzo, Pippin Properties. (Oct.) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
School Library Journal (c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. 9781481438254 Gr 8 Up-Fifteen-year-old Will's big brother has been shot and killed. According to the rules that Will has been taught, it is now his job to kill the person responsible. He easily finds his brother's gun and gets on the elevator to head down from his eighth-floor apartment. But it's a long way down to the ground floor. At each floor, a different person gets on to tell a story. Each of these people is already dead. As they relate their tales, readers learn about the cycle of violence in which Will is caught up. The protagonist faces a difficult choice, one that is a reality for many young people. Teens are left with an unresolved ending that goes beyond the simple question of whether Will will seek revenge. Told in verse, this title is fabulistic in its simplicity and begs to be discussed. Its hook makes for an excellent booktalk. It will pair well with Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and Reynolds's previous works. The unique narrative structure also makes it an excellent read-alike for Walter Dean Myers's Monster. VERDICT This powerful work is an important addition to any collection.-Kristin Anderson, Columbus Metropolitan Library System, OH Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Book list From Booklist, Copyright American Library Association. Used with permission. 9781481438254 *Starred Review* Spanning a mere one minute and seven seconds, Reynolds' new free-verse novel is an intense snapshot of the chain reaction caused by pulling a trigger. First, 15-year-old Will Holloman sets the scene by relating his brother Shawn's murder two days prior gunned down while buying soap for their mother. Next, he lays out The Rules: don't cry, don't snitch, always get revenge. Now that the reader is up to speed, Will tucks Shawn's gun into his waistband and steps into an elevator, steeled to execute rule number three and shoot his brother's killer. Yet, the simple seven-floor descent becomes a revelatory trip. At each floor, the doors open to admit someone killed by the same cycle of violence that Will's about to enter. He's properly freaked out, but as the seconds tick by and floors count down, each new occupant drops some knowledge and pushes Will to examine his plans for that gun. Reynolds' concise verses echo like shots against the white space of the page, their impact resounding. He peels back the individual stories that led to this moment in the elevator and exposes a culture inured to violence because poverty, gang life, or injustice has left them with no other option. In this all-too-real portrait of survival, Reynolds goes toe-to-toe with where, or even if, love and choice are allowed to exist. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: A noisy buzz always surrounds this critically acclaimed author's work, and the planned tour and promo campaign will boost this book's to a siren call.--Smith, Julia Copyright 2017 Booklist
...More

There were errors while parsing the xml file you provided
Parse Error line 55, character3 End tag 'Book' does not match the start tag 'Author'.

2018 (Younger Readers) Alfie. 9781419725296 Thyra Heder 2018 (Younger Readers) All Around Us 9781941026762 Xelena Gonzalez 2018 (Younger Readers) All the Way to Havana 9781627796422 Margarita Engle 2018 (Younger Readers) Baby Goes to Market 9780763695705 Atinuke 2018 (Younger Readers) Big Cat, Little Cat 9781626723719 Elisha Cooper 2018 (Younger Readers) Blue Sky, White Stars 9780803737006 Sarvinder Naberhaus 2018 (Younger Readers) The Book of Mistakes 9780735227927 Corinna Luyken 2018 (Younger Readers) The Boy and the Whale 9781626725058 Mordicai Gerstein 2018 (Younger Readers) Charlie and Mouse 9781452131535 Laurel Snyder/Author> 2018 (Younger Readers) Frida Kahlo and Her Animalitos 9780735842694 Monica Brown 2018 (Younger Readers) Good Night, Planet 9781943145201 Liniers 2018 (Younger Readers) A Greyhound, a Groundhog 9780553498059 Emily Jenkins 2018 (Younger Readers) Home in the Rain 9780763692698 Bob Graham 2018 (Younger Readers) I See a Cat 9780823436804 Paul Meisel 2018 (Younger Readers) Jabari Jumps 9780763678388 Gaia Cornwall 2018 (Younger Readers) King and Kayla and the Case of the Missing Dog Treats 9781561458776 Dori Hillestad Butler 2018 (Younger Readers) La Princesa and the Pea 9780399251566 Susan Middleton Elya 2018 (Younger Readers) Life on Mars 9780399538520 Jon Agee 2018 (Younger Readers) The Little Red Cat Who Ran Away and Learned His ABC?s (the Hard Way) 9780316502467 Patrick McDonnell 2018 (Younger Readers) My Kite Is Stuck! And Other Stories. 9781619638877 Salina Yoon 2018 (Younger Readers) Noodleheads See the Future. 9780823436736 Tedd Arnold, Martha Hamilton, and Mitch Weiss 2018 (Younger Readers) Now 9781626721371 Antoinette Portis 2018 (Younger Readers) The Only Fish in the Sea 9781626722828 Philip C. Stead 2018 (Younger Readers) A Perfect Day 9781626725362 Lane Smith 2018 (Younger Readers) Professional Crocodile 9781452165066 Giovanna Zoboli 2018 (Younger Readers) The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet! 9780545722889 Carmen Agra Deedy