Reviews for Wake-up call

Publishers Weekly
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

O’Leary returns (after The No-Show) with a humorous and poignant rom-com set at a boutique hotel in southern England. Concierges Izzy and Lucas can’t stand each other after a miscommunication: the previous Christmas, Izzy sent Lucas a note confessing her romantic feelings and he, apparently, cruelly rejected her and kissed her roommate. However, they both care deeply about Forest Manor hotel, which is on the verge of bankruptcy. The owners want to raise extra money by selling everything in the lost property room and assign Izzy and Lucas to sort through it all. It seems like a hopeless proposition (boxes have labels like “tatty books” and “coats left behind in 2019”)—until they come across five lost wedding rings. After Izzy gets one back to its rightful owner and receives a huge reward, the race is on to return the others. Exuberant Izzy and focused, somber Lucas have little in common on the surface, but O’Leary soon makes it clear how well they work together—and how deeply they need each other. Add in some charming supporting characters and stakes that feel high but believable, and the result is exactly the cute contemporary romp that O’Leary’s fans have come to expect. Agent: Tanera Simons, Darley Anderson Literary. (Sept.)


Library Journal
(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Last year, Izzy's Christmas confession of love went unrequited, and her feelings for Lucas changed from attraction to enmity. When the hotel that they both work at literally begins to crumble around them, and it's clear that there will be layoffs, their rivalry reaches a whole new level. While clearing out the hotel's lost and found, Izzy and Lucas discover a box of wedding rings and wager on who can return them to their owners the fastest. As the competition between them heats up, however, so does their romantic connection, and Izzy begins to wonder whether the incident of last Christmas was just a mistletoe misunderstanding. O'Leary (The No-Show) presents a playful contemporary romance with holiday touches and heartwarming tropes—complete with a climactic race to the airport. Narrators Jessie Cave and Lino Facioli are a delightful duo, expertly capturing upbeat Izzy, uptight Lucas, and their undeniable chemistry. Extra touches, such as a tinny effect on telephone conversations, enhance the already enchanting listening experience. VERDICT Will appeal to listeners seeking an engaging opposites-attract holiday rom-com. Recommended for fans of Sophie Cousens, Emily Henry, and Katherine Center.—Lauren Hackert

Back