Reviews for An enchantment of ravens

School Library Journal
(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Gr 7 Up-This debut novel offers a lively romantic adventure. Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a talented painter who finds herself in demand by the fair folk, immortal beings captivated by human handicrafts. They pay her in enchantments, which she is careful to phrase in such a way that there can be no loopholes. But her newest client, Rook, is unlike other fair folk she's met-there is a sorrow behind his eyes. When she captures this in a painting, his status is challenged in his kingdom as fair folk can never be seen to have a flaw. Isobel accompanies Rook on a The Princess Bride-style magical adventure back to his home kingdom, finding along the way that their sparring relationship could turn into something more. Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike. She also craftily depicts the power imbalance between Isobel and Rook, offering a refreshing dynamic in which Isobel often comes out on top. -VERDICT A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance sure to appeal to fans of Holly Black, Diana Wynne Jones, and Sarah J. Maas.-Ann Foster, Saskatoon Public Library, Sask. Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Book list
From Booklist, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

Isobel is so talented at her craft that even Rook, prince of the autumn court of the fair folk, comes to her to have his portrait painted. But when she paints mortal sorrow into his eyes considered a fatal flaw in a court run on intrigue and dangerous power Rook kidnaps her to the world of the fair folk to stand trial. But there's even more peril once Isobel lands in Rook's chaotic realm, since her feelings for the prince, and his for her, could mean death for both of them. Rogerson's first novel is a lush romance with a strong heroine. In particular, Isobel's reticence to trust the fair folk makes her love for Rook believable, especially since Rogerson gives Rook depth enough for readers to love him as well. The plot is fairly tidy, with most of the story taking place over a matter of days, and Rogerson's deft way with words and world building lifts tension and interest to a high point. An excellent choice for fans of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.--Wildsmith, Snow Copyright 2017 Booklist


Book list
From Booklist, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

Isobel is so talented at her craft that even Rook, prince of the autumn court of the fair folk, comes to her to have his portrait painted. But when she paints mortal sorrow into his eyes considered a fatal flaw in a court run on intrigue and dangerous power Rook kidnaps her to the world of the fair folk to stand trial. But there's even more peril once Isobel lands in Rook's chaotic realm, since her feelings for the prince, and his for her, could mean death for both of them. Rogerson's first novel is a lush romance with a strong heroine. In particular, Isobel's reticence to trust the fair folk makes her love for Rook believable, especially since Rogerson gives Rook depth enough for readers to love him as well. The plot is fairly tidy, with most of the story taking place over a matter of days, and Rogerson's deft way with words and world building lifts tension and interest to a high point. An excellent choice for fans of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.--Wildsmith, Snow Copyright 2017 Booklist


Publishers Weekly
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a master of her "Craft"-painting portraits-in the town of Whimsy, where it is always summer and which borders the forest where the "fair folk" have their kingdoms. When the fairies' autumn prince, Rook, requests a portrait, Isobel's world is upended. Petulant and beautiful Rook, whose eyes hold "sorrow, as raw as an open wound," frightens and beguiles Isobel; when he is upset by what his portrait reveals to his kingdom, he abducts her so that she might stand trial for the affront. Rogerson's moody debut novel is suffused with an intoxicating and palpable romantic longing. As Isobel and Rook break the "Good Law" by falling for each other, Rogerson turns forbidden love into fresh adventure with danger, chases, a glorious ball, and unexpected narrative turns. Readers will delight in her interpretation of classic fairy themes and lore, and in the humor laced into the story (Isobel's rowdy younger sisters began life as goats, before being ensorcelled by a drunk fairy). An ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Ages 14-up. Agent: Sara Megibow, KT Literary. (Sept.) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Back