JavaScript must be enabled on your browser for this PAC to work properly.

East Albemarle Reqional Library
Home Calendar Web Links Locations & Hours What We Do Who We Are
Search our Catalog:  

Search |  Browse |  Advanced  |  Help  | My Account

Book on CD | DVD


Catch of the day

by Kristan Higgins.

Publishers Weekly Diner owner Maggie Beaumont longs to meet that special someone. Unfortunately, her tiny town in Maine offers few prospects, and when she finally develops a crush, the object of her affection turns out to be the new parish priest. But Maggie soon notices Malone, a surly, taciturn lobsterman, and their relationship takes some unusual twists and turns. Narrator Xe Sands ably renders the good-hearted but awkward Maggie, who has a knack for babbling when she's nervous, putting her foot in her mouth, and creating embarrassing misunderstandings. Sands captures the humor of Maggie's mishaps and creates distinctive voices for the other characters, including a surly growl for Malone, an Irish lilt for Father Tim, a seductive purr for Maggie's flirty friend, and quavering tones for Maggie's elderly neighbor. The result is an engaging, humorous listen. A HQN paperback. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Book list Maggie's misadventures have entertained the gossips of Gideon's Cove for years, but at 32 she's getting frustrated with her lack of marital prospects. Accordingly, she embarks on a determined campaign, aided by the new priest in town, who is embarrassed by the crush she has developed on him, and by the members of her family, including her identical twin sister, who are only too eager to see her happily married. Fans of Janet Chapman's and Marcia Evanick's Maine-set contemporary romances featuring working-class people with complex lives and family issues will find many of the same elements in Higgins' second romantic comedy, starring a protagonist narrator who is a charmingly muddled, good-hearted, but impulsive and outspoken woman wanting desperately to settle down with Mr. Right. But since he is nowhere to be seen, she lavishes her attention on good works, her restaurant, her family, and her faithful golden retriever, while ignoring the one man who may just be her perfect match.--Welch, Lynne Copyright 2007 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright American Library Association. Used with permission.

Go to Kid's Catalog Web  
 Powered by: YouSeeMore © The Library Corporation (TLC) Library Home Top of Page