Mission Statement
Our mission is to be an integral part of our diverse community by encouraging reading, lifelong learning, and community engagement and by providing opportunities to connect, learn and grow. 


Library Slogan

Read. Learn. Live.

The Roanoke Rapids Public Library is supported by City taxpayers, The Friends of Roanoke Rapids Public Library, and private donations. Everyone is welcome to use the Library, but a library card is required to check out material and use computers.

These services are provided without regard to race, religion, age, education level or economic status.

LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMITTEE A nine member Library Advisory Committee renders advice and counsel to the Library Director concerning the operation of the Library with the objective of insuring that quality library services are provided to the residents of Roanoke Rapids. Volunteer members to this Committee are appointed by the Roanoke Rapids City Council. The Library Advisory Committee meets in the odd numbered month except July and welcomes public attendance and input from the Community.


    Dr. James Ketoff-Chairman
    Brenda Stephenson-Vice Chairman
    Alice Newsome-Secretary
    Sylvia Ezell-Assistant Secretary
    Sandra Duncan
    Brian Jones
    Marci Merritt
    Janet Moore

    William Mueller
Ex Officio Members:

    Councilman Carl Ferebee, Council Liaison
    John Simeon, Department Head, Parks & Recreation
    Jeff Watson, Head Librarian
    Derrick Flood, Library Operations Supervisor